Tour du Rwanda: Its Eritrean again

Share This Content

Eritrean Natnael Tesfazion won the 2020 Tour of Rwanda cycling race that concluded on Sunday in Rwanda’s capital Kigali.

Natnael Tesfazion used a total of 23h13mins and 01 seconds to claim the crown, becoming the second Eritrean to win the race after his compatriot Merhawi Kudus won it last year.

Second in the race was Rwanda’s Moise Mugisha after using 23h, 13mins, 01 second and 54 microseconds.

The competition which kicked off on Feb.23 in Kigali featured 16 teams and 80 riders.

The 12th edition attracted riders from 26 countries who covered a distance of 899kms in eight stages across the country.

In the last stage on Sunday the cyclists rode through hills of the Kigali city covering a distance of 89kms with 7 climbs.

The total race comprised 34 climbs with a combined elevation of 17.025kms.

This was the second edition of the competition since Tour of Rwanda was upgraded to 2.1 category race of the International Cycling Union (UCI) from 2.2 category.

On the continent Gabon’s La Tropicale Amissa Bongo shares the same category with Tour of Rwanda.

Eritrean Kudus Merhawi won the Tour of Rwanda race last year after covering a distance of 959.1kms in eight stages.

The Tour of Rwanda started in 2009, and took its place in the continental African calendar.

Share This Content

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *